top of page

Tips for Finding Emotional Healing and Happiness in Life


  1. Talk to God (Prayer).

When I'm at my lowest, I talk to God. I'll go somewhere quiet and literally talk out loud to God. I also have a journal that I love to write in, and it's like writing letters to God. I hold conversations with Him on paper, and sometimes I imagine what He would say to me if I could hear His voice. Writing down what He might say to you is nice because you can look back on what you wrote previously if you feel down again.

  1. Keep a journal and/or talk to a friend about your day. Every night my sister tells me about her day. It's our routine. She starts by telling me the bad things about her day, so she can get the hurt and anger out and not let it build up inside. Then she tells me the good things about her day, so she takes time to focus on the good in her life. She ends with telling me at least one good thing about the next day, so that she is looking forward to the future. It helps her keep a positive outlook in life. If you are like me and have trouble telling other people about your feelings or don't have anyone to talk with, you can do the same thing, but write it down in a journal. Write about the bad stuff, about things you are looking forward to or hoping for in the future. Write about anything and everything – no one has to know about it but you.

  2. Be grateful for the little things in life.

To me it's a miracle when I find a missing homework assignment, and every day I feel blessed when everyone in my family gets home safely. When we are grateful for the little things that often are taken for granted, we can come to realize how blessed we really are and how much good there really is in our lives.

  1. Do something nice for someone else.

It feels good to help other people and helps distract you from being focused on your own pains, worries, and sorrows. It can also remind you that although you have struggles, you are not alone. You may even realize that your problems aren't so bad after all in comparison to someone else's struggles. Also, it is surprisingly easy to get yourself believing that you are worthless, and when you are able to look back on what you have been doing and realize that you have done good for others, it becomes harder to believe that you are worthless and easier to believe that you have value.

  1. Exercise.

If you're feeling down, try making exercise a part of your schedule every week. Exercise several times every week. It can help you feel good physically and emotionally.

  1. Make realistic goals for yourself.

If you set goals that are too high for yourself, you will feel disappointed when you don't met them. If you have no goals, you will likely question what your purpose in life is. Avoid both by setting goals for yourself, but goals that are humanly possible for you. Don't compare what you are capable of to what Bobby Joe down the street is capable of, because you aren't Bobby Joe, you're you. So be the best you that you can be.

  1. Take a break when you're stressed. Sometimes at work I'll feel the stress building up inside of me so badly that it literally becomes hard for me to breathe. Remember that everyone needs a break sometimes. Try working on another task for a little bit or do something that you enjoy for a while when you feel your stress level rise.

  1. Don't hold grudges – forgive (yourself included).

It's hard to be happy in life and excited for the future while continuing to look back on the bad in the past. It weighs you down and can change people in terrible ways you wouldn't think possible. I'm still working on this one myself. It's hard, I know. But learning to forgive allows you to be at peace and let go of the hate and resentment that can otherwise buildup inside.

  1. Laugh.

A woman once told me “Sometimes you have to laugh or you'll cry.” She worked with elderly people in a rest home, and she had to find ways to look at things in a comical light or otherwise she would break down and cry thinking about all that her patients go through and have lost. Be empathetic and compassionate always, but don't be afraid to look for the good in the bad situations and see the bright side.

  1. Find something that makes you happy and do it (even if you don't feel like it).

When you are depressed or really worried, you might not feel like doing anything – not even the things you normally love to do. Don't let yourself be miserable. Force yourself to do something you would normally find enjoyable, and you just might find yourself having fun.

  1. Love yourself.

You deserve it. You need it. Do it.

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
  • Facebook Long Shadow

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

Search By Tags
    No tags yet.
    bottom of page